First Blog Post-Who am I ?

First Blog Post-Who am I ?


Introduction

Hey readers, welcome to my part of hashnode. I'm Ekemini and this is "Dev life with kems", a personal blog where I document, share and write on steps id take in my tech journey and possibly milestones id accomplish. And, hopefully, to inspire anyone who wants to start their tech journey. Sorry if it's a long read just wanted to give everyone an overview of who I am, what my interests are and what you should be looking to see from this blog, as I progress on this tech journey.

Personal Background

So, yeah- Im Ekemini, a Nigerian African and Christian who lives in Cross River state.

Growing up, after high school when they would say you need to have passion for something so you pursue it as a career and study what it requires. I really didn't have any passions. All I knew was I didn't want to study medicine or health courses because I didn't have the brain space or manpower to read all that, it just looked too much and it wasn't for me. I didn't fancy any other courses because they all required me to study subjects that I hated like- chemistry, biology, geography etc.

After a little research, the only career paths that were left were computer and math-related. And who wants to study math? lol I wasn't ready to become a math teacher. And the idea of studying computer-related courses didn't look bad to me. So again, I did my research and found out that computer-related careers were doing well economically. I decided to study Software engineering as a course in college- which I'm still studying by the way, currently in my second year.

Education and career path

I'm currently in 2nd year, studying software engineering at Babcock University, Nigeria. It's not entirely a big deal. Over the years, as a person, I'm always been very ahead in tech. I'm always up to date with technology trends and everything. And trust me, I've come to the point where I know full well that a degree in software engineering doesn't make you any different. I've seen and heard of people who didn't complete their first year in uni, and do well in tech. Don't get me wrong I've also seen people who did well in uni accomplish tech milestones. But I don't want to limit myself to the confinements of a degree. That's why I'm trying my best to take action early.

Also, my university has a program called SIWES. where students go into the real world and seek job opportunities to gain experience in their various fields of study.

It begins next year, in about 6 months. and one has to be skilled and well-equipped to be able to get an actual development job. I already do not really fancy office jobs. I always dreamt of getting a remote internship role for the SIWES program so, it would mean a lot to me if I get acquainted with the skills I need early enough to be able to face either SIWES or the job market.

The type of career path I foresee for myself is not one that the government in my country can support or manhandle. I come from a very economically stagnant country, the employment sector doesn't even favour first-class graduates.

That's why I'm in no particular way depending on my degree. I've grown enough to know that to succeed in tech, you've got to possess skills that make you stand out. You have to actually know what you're doing.

Starting out, I chose front-end development because it seemed like something I could handle. Before now, I've only ever worked in a web3 Nft discord as a collab manager. But when I decided to take skills seriously I found out that I could actually become a web3 dev. I explored blockchain sectors like Defi, read a bit about it and saw I was good at explaining.

Then I figured I would add a Technical writer to my portfolio.

I dont want to rush things because as I progress I'm sure I would touch those areas

I've always wanted to make a living for myself through tech and help solve real-world problems by contributing to ideas by developing systems or software that would serve as solutions to real-life problems

I wouldn't say im blindly passionate about tech, but I would rightly say that I'm interested in tech, I believe it's something I can excel in, if I put in the work.

Challenges and obstacles

I've started with the basic front-end development pack- HTML, CSS AND JAVASCRIPT. I'm currently learning HTML and CSS and I've gotten to a pretty reasonable point. At the point of writing this article, I can say I can successfully look at a webpage and try to replicate it with my knowledge of Flexbox and the box model.

I'm hoping to learn CSS Grid and hear it's a better layout. But I would outrightly progress when I've built a substantial amount of projects via css flexbox

Like the title of my blog implies, ima a Christian and like every Christian I've faced obstacles while trying to grow as a dev. I've struggled with procrastination, comparison, failure, etc and subsequently, I would share stories on what I've faced and how I overcame them.

Achievements and milestones

I've built some little projects on my own, some clones of other projects and I would be sharing them and how I did them, in subsequent articles. so stay tuned.

I share some little projects I make on my Twitter but ill be sharing more in-depth how-tos on here.

Lesson learned and Advice

Well, I don't know if I'm in the right place to advise anybody yet. But I would just say that if you have any interests or anything you're looking to get into. Starting now would be your best option. Just go ahead and do it. there really nothing to lose. As a Christian as well, I would advise you to give everything to God and just start. start with him and hell see you through.

Conclusion

I've come to the end of the article. I hope I introduced myself as much. I'm hoping to share more memories, tips and milestones and hopefully-who knows, inspire anyone who has ever wanted to start their tech journey

Thanks for reading to the end.

warm regards.